Sky Racing World Launches OZ simulcasting for North America

Tabcorp Holdings’ international racing subsidiary Sky Racing World (Sky World) has announced the launch of an Australian racing High Definition (HD) simulcasting channel for the North American marketing.

The launch of the channel marks Sky World’s continued focus on the North American market, with its racing content accompanied by a new customised graphics package for North American clients.

David Haslett, President and CEO, at Sky Racing World, commented: “The launch of HD simulcasting to North America demonstrates how dedicated we are to the continuous enhancement of our product and giving punters a first-class experience. The Australian Cup is the ideal launching pad for this offering and with The Championships coming up, will only continue to build the excitement for Australian horse racing in North America.”

The first set of races to benefit from this high-quality enhancement, will be held Friday 8th March, as the G1 Australian Cup (9:35 p.m. PST, or 12:35 a.m. EST on Saturday, 9th March) and G1 Newmarket Stakes (8:15 p.m. PST, or 11:15 p.m. EST) takes place at Flemington, Melbourne’s premier racecourse.

In addition to the races from Flemington, Friday night will also feature HD simulcasts of the G1 Randwick Guineas (9:35 p.m. PST, or 12:35 a.m. EST on Saturday, 9th March), and G1 Canterbury Stakes (8:35 p.m. PST, or 11:35 p.m. EST) from Royal Randwick in Sydney.

Committed to providing deeper raceday coverage, both on and off the track, Sky World will supply North American audiences with HD simulcasts of Australian horse racing, seven nights a week. The new HD simulcasts will also be available to stream online across 100 digital platforms, including skyracingworld.com.

Features of the accompanying customised graphics package will include probable payout information for Exacta bets, approximate odds display plus colour coding by track to make it easier for handicappers to make their betting decision.

The Australian Autumn Carnival continues on the night of Friday 15th March with the inaugural $5 Million All-Star Mile from Flemington. The All-Star Mile, now the richest turf mile handicap in the world, will feature 14 runners, 10 of which are selected by a public vote.

The G1 George Ryder Stakes, which takes place Friday 22nd March at Rosehill Gardens as part of Golden Slipper Day, also has historic implications as Winx, the world’ best racehorse, will compete in what is likely to be the second-last race of her remarkable career. Winx’s final race is scheduled for three weeks later at the G1 Queen Elizabeth Stakes at The Championships at Royal Randwick on 12th April.

The Championships – Australia’s equivalent to the Breeders’ Cup – will be held on the consecutive Friday nights of 5th and 12th April (USA date/time) at Royal Randwick and include nine Group 1 races, featuring Australia’s best horses.

Check Also

HRI launches new campaign to boost racing engagement

As part of a new bid to boost interest in the sport, Horse Racing Ireland …

Wager launches promising to conquer betting’s social conundrum

London start-up ‘Wager’ becomes the latest incumbent to tackle betting’s ‘social wagering conundrum’ launching its …

Betfair accelerates LATAM drive by backing CONMEBOL

Betfair has advanced its LATAM profile after confirming that it has become an ‘Official Partner’ of …